The Board

Dr Douglass Ross

Board Chairperson

A qualified medical and general practitioner registered with the HPCSA. He also holds an MBA. Dr Ross has extensive experience in healthcare management in both the South African non-profit and for-profit health sectors. He held the position of Chief Executive Officer of St Mary’s Hospital, Mariannhill, from 1995 to 2014. St Mary’s Hospital, Mariannhill, situated on the outskirts of Durban, was at that time a state-aided Catholic mission and district hospital.

In late 2014, Dr Ross became the Hospital Manager for Midlands Medical Centre Private Hospital in Pietermaritzburg. In early 2018, Dr Ross took on additional responsibilities, becoming the Group Hospital Manager for Mid-Medical Holdings. In this latest role, he has overall responsibility for two private hospitals in Pietermaritzburg, namely Midlands Medical Centre Private Hospital, an acute hospital, and Royal Hospital, a subacute and rehabilitation hospital.

Dr Ross gained his governance experience in the SA non-profit health sector in various positions (chairperson, vice-chairperson and board member), on the board of CATHCA from 1998 to today. During the period Dr Ross was the Chairperson of the Board of CATHCA, he was appointed by the Pontifical Council of Health Pastoral Care to represent Africa on the International Association of National Catholic Health Care Associations, known as AISAC. For a time, he was also a Director of St Mary’s Hospital Nursing College.

Dr Ross has received governance training from the Institute of Directors South Africa (IoDSA). He has held the roles of Vice-Chair and Chair of the KZN Branch Committee of the IoDSA, and is currently a member of the Regional Advisory Committee of the IoDSA.

Dr Ross feels he has “benefited significantly at both a personal and professional level and has grown in his Catholic faith through his many years of involvement in governance with CATHCA”

Sr. Maureen Rooney LCCL (SA)

Board Deputy Chairperson.

Retired Professional Educator still serving on Educational Boards.

Holy Cross Sisters Provincial Leadership Team 2005-2014.

Currently  Secretary General of Leadership Conference of Consecrated Life South Africa [LCCL SA]

Serves on Johannesburg Metropolitan Tribunal.

Sister Hermenegild Makoro

Secretary- general of the Southern African Catholic Bishops’ Conference

Mr. Thembekile Kanise

Mr. Bheki Jama

Bishop Fraank Nubuasah SVD – Liaison Bishop

Sr Hermenegild Makoro CPS – SACBC Sec General

Dr Douglas Ross – Chairperson

Sr Sophia Phiri

Ms Albina Kekana

Mr Bheki Jama

Sr Maureen Rooney – LCCL(SA)

Sr Maureen Yenson OP – Treasurer

Mr Thembekile Kanise

Fr Siphelele Gwanisheni OFM

Scroll to Top